2018 MacroGroup Medals Symposium

We are pleased to announce our annual MacroGroup Medals Symposium will be held at the University of Nottingham on Thursday 22nd November 2018.

Full details are below and in our flyer.

Registration is free but numbers are limited. Please register your attendance by 1st November via Eventbrite at https://tinyurl.com/ydb5r8sv

Our medal-winning speakers will be:

Location: Boots Science Building, School of Pharmacy, University of Nottingham


10.00 – 10.30 Registration and Coffee

10.30 – 10.45 Welcome and Introduction – Cameron Alexander, Chair Macro Group UK

10.45 – 11.30 Professor Steve Armes – (2018 Medal for Outstanding Achievement)

11.30 – 12.10 Dr Rachel Evans (2017 Young Researchers Medal)

12.10 – 12.30 Dr Charlotte Morse (2017 Jon Weaver PhD Prize)

12.30 – 14.00 Lunch and posters

13.00 – 14.00 Macro Group UK AGM open to all Macro Group members

14.00 – 15.30 Contributed talks: Early Career Researchers and DH Richards Award Winners

15.30 – 16.10 Tea and posters

16.10 – 16.50 Prof Andrew Lewis (2017 Macro Group UK Medal)

16.50 – 17.00 Concluding remarks

17.00 – Close of meeting

(Please email carol.turrill@nottingham.ac.uk with any dietary and/or access requirements).

10 Travel Bursaries available for PhD students thanks to the generous sponsorship of AstraZeneca and Agilent. To apply for a bursary, send a short statement of support from yourself or PhD supervisor confirming RSC Macro Group Membership to cameron.alexander@nottingham.ac.uk by 1st November.

Car parking and disabled car parking are available at the Visitors’ Car parks indicated on the University Park campus map.

If you need accommodation, please book with the following hotels which we recommend in this order of preference: Orchard Hotel University ParkTravel Lodge Wollaton ParkJurys Inn Nottingham and Holiday Inn Castle Marina.

EPF 2019

EPF2019 1

The European Polymer Congress 2019 (EPF 2019) is to take place from 9 to 14 June 2019 at the Creta Maris Convention Center & Beach Resort in Hersonissos Heraklion Crete, Greece.

The topics to be addressed during the Conference will include but are not limited to:

  • Advances in Polymer Synthesis
  • The Physics of Polymers
  • Polymeric Nanostructured Materials
  • Biopolymers, Biocomposites, Bioengineering and Biotechnology
  • Smart Polymeric Materials
  • Polymer Electronics and Bioelectronics
  • Theory and Modelling
  • Modern Applications of Polymers
  • Polymer Reaction Engineering
  • Rheology and Polymer Processing
  • Polymer Characterization Methods

All the Conference information can be found at the conference website: http://www.epfcrete2019.org

To download the Congress Announcement, click the following link: EPF_2019_Announcement

EPF2019 2

PAT2017 Conference: Abstract Deadline Extended, Group Discount

The abstract deadline has been extended for the Polymers for Advanced Technologies Conference (PAT 2017, Manchester 11 – 13 Sep). A new discount for groups sending multiple members has been introduced also.

Submission of abstracts: 30/6/2017
Early bird registration: 31/7/2017
Early-bird registration fee: £450 for staff, £350 for students;
£100 discount per person when ≥ 2 participants per group
Late registration fees will incur an extra £50

More information in the new flyer, on our site and the conference site.

Polymers for Advanced Technologies Conference: PAT 2017, Manchester 11 – 13 Sep


The 14th International Conference on Polymers for Advanced Technologies (PAT 2017) will be held in Manchester (United Kingdom) on September 11-13, 2017.

PAT conferences are held on a biannual basis and are associated with the Polymers for Advanced Technologies journal (Wiley). PAT 2017 is organised by Profs Nicola Tirelli (University of Manchester) and Cameron Alexander (University of Nottingham) and will focus on three main themes:

  • life and health
  • energy and electronics
  • synthesis and sustainability

A number of distinguished speakers have already agreed to present in the exciting programme of our conference, which will be hosted in the town cradle of the industrial revolution, a fitting location for a technology-orientated conference.

We welcome all potential presenters to submit their abstracts for consideration (either for oral or poster presentations)  by the 30th June.

See you in Manchester!

Further information

Please see the conference conference flyer for full details.

Contact details:

All enquiries should be addressed to:
Janet Adnams
ConferCare, Conferences and Venues
The University of Manchester
Beyer Building
Oxford Road
M13 9PL, UK
Tel: +44 (0) 161 306 4082

Email: confercare-online@manchester.ac.uk
Web: www.confercare.manchester.ac.uk/events/pat2017/

Deadlines and Fees

Submission of abstracts: 30/6/2017
Early bird registration: 31/7/2017
Early-bird registration fee: £450 for staff, £350 for students;
£100 discount per person when ≥ 2 participants per group
Late registration fees will incur an extra £50

Keynote addresses

  • Eugenia Kumacheva (U Toronto)
  • Andreas Lendlein (Helmoltz Inst. of Biomater. Sci.)
  • Krzysztof Matyjaszewskii (Carnegie Mellon U)
  • Jian Pei (Peking U).

Confirmed speakers

  • Rigoberto Advincula (Case Western U)
  • Alexander Bismarck (U Vienna)
  • Paolo Decuzzi (IIT)
  • Avi Domb (Hebrew U)
  • Dirk Grijpma (U Twente)
  • Sophie Guillaume (U Rennes)
  • Jöns Hilborn (U Uppsala)
  • Harm-Anton Klok (EPFL)
  • Teruyuki Komatsu (Chou U)
  • Jean-Francois Lutz (U Strasbourg)
  • Alvaro Mata (Queen Mary U)
  • Sebastien Perrier (U Warwick)
  • Andrea Pucci (U Pisa)
  • Steve Rannard (U Liverpool)
  • Wim Thielemans (U Leuven)
  • Tao Xie (Zhejiang U)
  • Alex Zelikin (Aarhus U).

Medal Winners Symposium Announcement: 10th Nov 2017, Aston University, Birmingham

We are pleased to announce our annual Macro Group Medal Winners Symposium will be held at Aston University, Birmingham, UK on Fri 10th November 2017.

Our medal-winning speakers will be:

Prof Ian Hamley (2016 Macro Group UK Medal)

Dr Theoni Georgiou (2016 Young Researchers Medal)

Prof Nikos Hadjichristidis (2016 Medal for Outstanding Achievement)

Dr Giovanna Sicilia (2015 Jon Weaver PhD Prize)

Charalampos Pappas (2016 Jon Weaver PhD Prize)

Further details and registration information will be available soon.

IoP Polymer Science Careers Day

The Polymer Physics Group of the IoP is running a careers day on 30th November 2016 on the subject: “Careers outside of Academia – What else can I do with a PhD in Polymer Science?”

Are you looking for a career outside of academia? If you are a PhD student or PDRA and want to hear about job options other than applying for a lectureship, please come and join us for this one day event.

Speakers will include representatives from the consumer goods, agrochemicals, paint and coatings, lubricants, patent law, journalism and scientific publishing, careers within government research councils and large scale facilities, as well as project management inside and outside of academia.
For more information and to register, please see:
Registration Deadline: 28th November 2016