2016 Ottewill International Travel Scholarship

We are pleased to announce that the first award of the Ottewill International Travel Scholarship has been made to Qian Sun from Cambridge University.  The award was established using residual funds from closure of the UK Polymer Colloids Forum (UKPCF), as announced in the June 2016 issue of the Bulletin, and is designed to assist, each year, one outstanding UK-based graduate polymer colloids researcher in presenting their work at an international conference outside the UK.

Qian is carrying out PhD research into aqueous core, metal-coated colloidosomes under the supervision of Dr. Alex Routh at Cambridge and will use the award to attend and present at the 91st ACS Colloid & Surface Science Symposium in New York in July.

Pete Lovell

on behalf of the Ottewill International Travel Scholarship Award Committee

IoP Polymer Science Careers Day

The Polymer Physics Group of the IoP is running a careers day on 30th November 2016 on the subject: “Careers outside of Academia – What else can I do with a PhD in Polymer Science?”

Are you looking for a career outside of academia? If you are a PhD student or PDRA and want to hear about job options other than applying for a lectureship, please come and join us for this one day event.

Speakers will include representatives from the consumer goods, agrochemicals, paint and coatings, lubricants, patent law, journalism and scientific publishing, careers within government research councils and large scale facilities, as well as project management inside and outside of academia.
For more information and to register, please see:
Registration Deadline: 28th November 2016


EUPOC 2017 Conference ‘Polymers & Additive Manufacturing’ EPF – Gargnano (Garda Lake – Italy) May 21-25, 2017


EUPOC 2017 is aiming to introduce the most recent developments within the various areas of additive manufacturing for polymer parts with presentations from leading international scientists and industrial researchers working in this field. Contributions will address fundamental and experimental aspects, discuss the bottlenecks, model the physics of these processes in order to consider their simulations, present applications, material-related issues and part properties. In the field of polymer part production, several types of processes and variants are developing rapidly: stereo-lithography, laser sintering, fused filament fabrication, binder or material jetting, cold spray, … In coming years this area of research, at the intersection between fundamental science and technology, is expected to define new and innovative applications for polymers. EUPOC 2017 will offer a platform for discussing the main challenges facing this research field bringing together scientists, engineers, and students working on every aspect of additive manufacturing of polymer parts.

Major topics will include:
● Instrumentation of processes;
● New polymer materials for additive manufacturing : chemistries and formulations;
● Involved physical and chemical processes (experimental and modeling);
● Induced microstructures;
● Induced mechanical properties;
● Simulations of processes;
● New technologies and innovative developments.

Well-known scientists involved in polymers and additive manufacturing already agree to give a plenary lectures (list which will completed):

  • Dr. Ingo Alig – Fraunhofer Institute LBF, Darmstadt, Germany – ‘Viscoelastic modelling of gas pore collapse during polymer sintering’
  • Prof. Federica Chiellini – University Pisa, Italy  – ‘Additive manufacturing of polymer scaffolds for biomedical applications’
  • Prof. Jose A. Cova – University of Minho I3N, Portugal –
  • Prof. Ruth Goodridge – University of Nottingham, UK – ‘Laser Sintering of Polymer Nanocomposites’
  • Prof. Jacques Lalevée – IS2M Mulhouse, France –  ‘New Photosensitive Resins For LED Projector 3D Printing’
  • Prof. Olivier Lame – MATEIS Université de Lyon/INSA Lyon,France – ‘Cold spray processing of polymers’
  • Dr. Kalman Migler – NIST, Gaithersburg, USA – ‘The Polymer Physics of Extrusion-based Additive Manufacturing’
  • Prof. Francesca Nanni – University of Rome ‘Tor Vergata’, Italy –
  • Prof. Peter Van Puyvelde – Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium – ‘Polymers for laser sintering: frow powder to product’

Visit the EUPOC 2017 Conference:  http://eupoc.it/index.html

Important dates:
– Registration before April 15, 2017 (available on: http://eupoc.it/registration.html )
– Oral and poster contributions: email a one-page PDF abstract by 20 March, 2017 to mg.viola@unipi.it
– Acceptance notifications: April 7, 2017

Dr. Claire BARRES, Prof. Jean-François GERARD, Gilles REGNIER
EUPOC 2017 Chairs

2016 Macro Group UK Medal for Outstanding Achievement

The Macro Group UK Medal for Outstanding Achievement is awarded to a scientist based any-where in the world that has made outstanding contributions to the field of polymer science.
nikos-hadjichristidisThis year award has been made to Professor Nikos Hadjichristidis (Polymer Synthesis Laboratory, KAUST Catalysis Center, Division of Physical Sciences & Engineering, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, KAUST).
Professor Hadjichristidis received his Ph.D in 1971 from the University of Liège, Belgium. He is best known for his work on the synthesis of well-defined polymers with complex macromolecular architectures using anionic polymerisation high vacuum techniques. These materials have led to numerous advances such as the development of nanorelief ceramics or the demonstration of tri-continuous cubic phases in copolymers. They are ideal models for validating established theory, understanding and improving the performance of industrial polymers and are potential candidates for high-tech applications such as nanolithography or drug delivery. Prof Hadjichristidis is a member on the Editorial Board of several leading polymer journals (Polymer Chemistry, European Polymer Journal, Progress in Polymer Science and Journal of Polymer Science) and has published more than 450 scientific papers. He has received numerous awards, including the International Award of the Society of Polymer Science, Japan, 2007 and the 2015 ACS National Award in Polymer Chemistry.