2018 Macro Group UK Medal

The Macro Group UK Medal is awarded annually to a UK based scientist who has made a significant and substantial contribution to the development of polymer science through his/her scientific achievements and/or services to the UK polymer science community.

The 2018 award has been made to Professor Sébastien Perrier (University of Warwick/ Monash University) and Professor Charlotte Williams (Oxford University).

PerrierProfessor Sébastien Perrier graduated from the Ecole National Supèrieure de Chimie de Montpellier, France, in 1998. He undertook his PhD at the University of Warwick, England, in polymer chemistry, and spent one year as a postdoctoral fellow at the Centre for Advances Macromolecular Design (University of New South Wales), Australia. He started his academic career at Leeds in 2002 as a lecturer, then moved to the University of Sydney in 2007, as director of the Key Centre for Polymers & Colloids. In October 2013, Sébastien was appointed as the Monash-Warwick Alliance Chair in Polymer Chemistry, a joint appointment between the Chemistry Department and the Medical School at the University of Warwick, UK, and the Faculty of Pharmacy at Monash University, Australia. Sébastien’s team focuses on the use of macromolecular engineering to design functional nanostructured materials, with applications ranging from material science to nanotechnology and nanomedicine. He has published nine book chapters and ca. 200 articles, which have received over 15,000 citations, and graduated to date 31 PhD students. Sebastien is member of the editorial board of a number of journals, and associate editor of Polymer Chemistry. His received the Macro Group UK Young Researcher Award in 2006, and more recently the Wolfson Merit Award (Royal Society, 2014), the Biomacromolecules / Macromolecules Young Investigator Award (ACS, 2014) and the IUPAC / Samsung Young Polymer Scientist Award (IUPAC, 2014).

WilliamsCharlotte Williams is a professor of Inorganic Chemistry at Oxford University (2016-present). Her research interests are in polymerization catalysis, polymer chemistry and nanoparticle synthesis. She investigates how to use renewable resources to make polymers, with a particular emphasis on polyesters and polycarbonates.  Her work includes catalysts enabling carbon dioxide copolymerization, lactone ring-opening polymerization and selective catalysis from monomer mixtures (switch catalysis). In 2011, Charlotte founded econic technologies which is commercializing catalysts to transform carbon dioxide into products (http://econic-technologies.com/).  From 2003-2016, she was on the faculty at Imperial College London and during that time served as the head of the materials chemistry research section.  Earlier in her career, she was a postdoctoral researcher at Cambridge University (2002-2003), working with Andrew Holmes and Richard Friend (Organometallic polymers for electronics), and at the University of Minnesota (2001-2002) working with Bill Tolman and Marc Hillmyer (zinc catalysts for lactide polymerization). She obtained her BSc and PhD from Imperial College London, working with Vernon Gibson and Nick Long on ethene polymerization catalysis.  Charlotte’s work has been recognised by recent prizes from DECHEMA (Otto Roelen Medal, 2018), The UK Catalysis Hub (Sir John Meurig Thomas Medal, 2017) and the Royal Society of Chemistry (Corday Morgan Medal, 2016).