MacroGroup UK Medal Winners Symposium 2017

By Prof Paul Topham and Dr Elena Patyukova (Aston University)

Supported by Lizi Rogers from the RKE, Professor Paul Topham and Dr Elena Patyukova of the Aston Institute of Materials Research (AIMR) hosted this year’s prestigious MacroGroup UK Medal Winners Symposium at Aston University on 10th November.MGUK 2017

All MacroGroup medal-winning speakers presented their work during the one-day meeting. In the morning, after a short introduction to the meeting, Prof Ian Hamley (2016 Macro Group UK Medal), presented his work on “Peptides and Peptide Conjugates: From Self-Assembly to Bioactivity”, followed by a talk given by Dr Theoni Georgiou (2016 Young Researchers Medal) on “Well-Defined Thermoresponsive Polymers”.

Winners of the 2015 and 2016 Jon Weaver PhD Prize,  Dr. Giovanna Sicilia  and Dr Charalampos Pappas gave their presentation in the afternoon. Professor Nikos Hadjichristidis (2016 Medal for Outstanding Achievement) closed the meeting with a presentation on “The Importance of Model Macromolecules in Polymer Physics and Polymer Industry”.