2018 MacroGroup Medals Symposium

We are pleased to announce our annual MacroGroup Medals Symposium will be held at the University of Nottingham on Thursday 22nd November 2018.

Full details are below and in our flyer.

Registration is free but numbers are limited. Please register your attendance by 1st November via Eventbrite at https://tinyurl.com/ydb5r8sv

Our medal-winning speakers will be:

Location: Boots Science Building, School of Pharmacy, University of Nottingham


10.00 – 10.30 Registration and Coffee

10.30 – 10.45 Welcome and Introduction – Cameron Alexander, Chair Macro Group UK

10.45 – 11.30 Professor Steve Armes – (2018 Medal for Outstanding Achievement)

11.30 – 12.10 Dr Rachel Evans (2017 Young Researchers Medal)

12.10 – 12.30 Dr Charlotte Morse (2017 Jon Weaver PhD Prize)

12.30 – 14.00 Lunch and posters

13.00 – 14.00 Macro Group UK AGM open to all Macro Group members

14.00 – 15.30 Contributed talks: Early Career Researchers and DH Richards Award Winners

15.30 – 16.10 Tea and posters

16.10 – 16.50 Prof Andrew Lewis (2017 Macro Group UK Medal)

16.50 – 17.00 Concluding remarks

17.00 – Close of meeting

(Please email carol.turrill@nottingham.ac.uk with any dietary and/or access requirements).

10 Travel Bursaries available for PhD students thanks to the generous sponsorship of AstraZeneca and Agilent. To apply for a bursary, send a short statement of support from yourself or PhD supervisor confirming RSC Macro Group Membership to cameron.alexander@nottingham.ac.uk by 1st November.

Car parking and disabled car parking are available at the Visitors’ Car parks indicated on the University Park campus map.

If you need accommodation, please book with the following hotels which we recommend in this order of preference: Orchard Hotel University ParkTravel Lodge Wollaton ParkJurys Inn Nottingham and Holiday Inn Castle Marina.