2016 Macro Group UK Young Researchers Medal

The Macro Group UK Young Researchers Medal is awarded annually to a UK based scientist with up to 12 years of experience since completion of PhD on December 31st of the preceding year (exclusive of career breaks) and whose contributions to polymer science show out-standing promise for the future.

theoni-georgiouThis year the award has been made to Dr Theoni Georgiou (Imperial College)

Dr. Georgiou obtained her PhD in polymer chemistry in 2006 from the University of Cyprus. She then moved to the USA and worked as a Postdoctoral Fellow at Rice University. In 2007, Theoni was awarded an RCUK Academic Fellowship and moved to the UK to join the Department of Chemistry at the University of Hull. In 2014, she was appointed as a Lecturer at Imperial College, in the Department of Materials. She has been recently promoted to a Senior Lecturer position in the same department. Her research focuses on the synthesis of well-defined polymers using living and controlled polymerisation. Her interest is to develop polymers with potential biomedical applications, including drug delivery, gene delivery and photo thermal therapy. Theoni’s work has led to numerous publications and she has recently become an associate editor of the RSC Advances journal